NY, NJ, CT Wants Travelers From 16 States To Quarantine For 2 Weeks

WCBS 880 Newsroom
June 30, 2020 - 11:08 am

    TRENTON, N.J. (WCBS 880) — Travelers who come into New York, New Jersey and Connecticut from 16 states with high coronavirus infection rates are now subject to a voluntary 14-day quarantine.

    The list of impacted states has doubled since the travel advisory was announced last week.

    It applies to states with a positive COVID-19 test rate higher than 10 per 100,000 residents or have a 10% or higher positivity rate over a seven-day rolling average. Impacted states will change as infection rates fluctuate.

    As of Tuesday, the following states are impacted: 

    North Carolina
    South Carolina

    "As an increasing number of states around the country fight significant community spread, New York is taking action to maintain the precarious safety of its phased, data-driven reopening," Gov. Andrew Cuomo said. "We've set metrics for community spread just as we've set metrics for everything the state does to fight COVID-19, and eight more states have reached the level of spread required to qualify for New York's travel advisory, meaning we will now require individuals traveling to New York from those states to quarantine for 14 days." 

    Last week, the governors of  New York, New Jersey and Connecticut announced that they are imposing a 14-day quarantine on travelers coming in from states with high coronavirus infection rates. The travel advisory also applies to Tri-State area residents returning home from an impacted state.

    Cuomo said those who violate the quarantine could face mandatory quarantine and fines of $2,000 for the first violation, $5,000 for second and up to $10,000 if you "cause harm."

    Stay informed, stay connected — follow WCBS 880 on Facebook and TwitterDownload the RADIO.COM app + favorite WCBS 880 for breaking news, traffic and weather alerts.