Hawaii, South Dakota, Virgin Islands Added To NY’s Quarantine List

Erica Brosnan
August 11, 2020 - 12:52 pm

    Sign up for WCBS 880's daily newsletter for the latest updates on the coronavirus pandemic.

    NEW YORK (WCBS 880) — Gov. Andrew Cuomo on Tuesday announced three new locations would be added to New York’s quarantine list. 

    Hawaii and South Dakota, along with the Virgin Islands, were added to the list Tuesday morning. Travelers arriving from those locations to New York must self-quarantine for 14 days upon arrival.

    The states of Alaska, Ohio, New Mexico and Rhode Island were also dropped from the list as their levels of coronavirus infection continues to decline, Cuomo announced. 

    The quarantine applies to any person arriving from an area with a positive test rate higher than 10 per 100,000 residents over a 7-day rolling average or an area with a 10 percent or higher positivity rate over a 7-day rolling average.

    "New York went from one of the worst situations in the country, to an example for the rest of the nation to follow," Gov. Cuomo said. "Our numbers continue to remain low and steady, which shows this virus will respond to an approach based on science, not politics. In order to protect this progress, we must keep up our efforts - we cannot go back to the hell we experienced a few months ago, which is why we are adding Hawaii, South Dakota and Virgin Islands to the travel advisory."

    The full, updated travel advisory list is below:

    • Alabama
    • Arkansas
    • Arizona
    • California
    • Florida
    • Georgia
    • Hawaii
    • Iowa
    • Idaho
    • Illinois
    • Indiana
    • Kansas
    • Kentucky
    • Louisiana
    • Maryland
    • Minnesota
    • Missouri
    • Mississippi
    • Montana
    • North Carolina
    • North Dakota
    • Nebraska
    • Nevada
    • Oklahoma
    • Puerto Rico
    • South Carolina
    • South Dakota
    • Tennessee
    • Texas
    • Utah
    • Virginia
    • Virgin Islands
    • Wisconsin

    The list now includes 31 states as well as the U.S. territories of the Virgin Islands and Puerto Rico.

    Gov. Cuomo announced that New York continues to make good progress in the fight to contain COVID-19. The statewide level of confirmed positives was at just 0.86% on Monday – of 77,059 test results, just 667 were positive.

    Six people died of the virus in New York, as well, on Monday, bringing the statewide total to 25,211 fatalities. 

    Stay informed, stay connected — follow WCBS 880 on Facebook and TwitterDownload the RADIO.COM app + favorite WCBS 880 for breaking news, traffic and weather alerts.