Mets' Jacob DeGrom Wins 2nd Consecutive Cy Young Award

WCBS 880 Newsroom
November 13, 2019 - 6:19 pm

NEW YORK (WCBS 880) — Mets pitcher Jacob deGrom was announced the winner of the NL Cy Young Award for the second year in a row.

The right-hander is the 11th pitcher in MLB history to win the prize back-to-back. He also won in 2018.

Other players to win back-to-back include: Max Scherzer, Sandy Koufax, Roger Clemens, Jim Palmer, Pedro Martinez, Clayton Kershaw, Greg Maddux, Denny McLain, Randy Johnson and Tim Lincecum.

“If you win one, it’s a good accomplishment,” said deGrom's teammate, Zack Wheeler. “If you win two, it’s a great accomplishment. But if you win them back-to-back, that is something special.”

DeGrom was announced as a finalist last week and was up against Hyun-Jin Ryu of the Los Angeles Dodgers and Max Scherzer of the Washington Nationals.

The Met led the National League in strikeouts, ranked second in ERA and third in innings. Though he didn’t quite match his 2018 season, when he won his first Cy Young Award, he remained a highlight for the team in a disappointing overall season.

“I’m happy with how I ended my season, but not happy where we’re at,” deGrom said after his final game of the season.

He said the goal was to win a World Series and they “fell short.”

Despite the team’s loss, many agree that his performance was enough to secure him the award again in the postseason.

On Monday, fellow Met Pete Alonso also took home the NL Rookie of the Year Award