VP Mike Pence Announces 5 New Members of Coronavirus Task Force

May 15, 2020 - 7:33 pm

NEW YORK (1010 WINS) -- Vice President Mike Pence on Friday afternoon announced five new members of the White House Coronavirus Task Force. 

"The announcement comes as the Task Force enters a new phase, which is focused on getting Americans back to work and allowing businesses to re-open," read a press release from Pence's office.

There was no mention of any members leaving the task force. 

Pence said in a statement, "Thanks to President Trump’s leadership and the efforts of the American people, we’ve saved lives, Slowed the Spread, and states are Opening Up Again. The new members of the White House Coronavirus Task Force will add expertise in the fields of vaccines and therapeutics as well as worker safety as the Task Force renews its focus on getting Americans back to work."

The following individuals have been added to the White House Coronavirus Task Force:
Sonny Perdue, Secretary of Agriculture
Gene Scalia, Secretary of Labor

Dr. Francis Collins, Director of the National Institutes of Health

Dr. Peter Marks, FDA Director of the Center for Biologics Evaluation and Research
Thomas Engels, Administrator of the Health Resources and Services Administration

Trending Coronavirus Coverage From RADIO.COM
—Disney World receives guidelines for when parks eventually reopen
—How likely is a second stimulus check?
—Families face ‘tough love’ conversations as coronavirus infects whole households
—6 creative ways to celebrate Mother’s Day while social distancing
—No stimulus check yet? 6 reasons why it may be held up
Doctor who pushed vitamin treatment for COVID-19 charged with fraud
Heartburn medicine being studied as possible treatment for coronavirus
—30-year-old teacher dies of coronavirus after symptoms were dismissed as panic attack

Facebook | Twitter | Instagram