Edward R. Murrow Awards

WCBS Newsradio 880 Takes Home 2 National Murrow Awards

June 19, 2018 - 11:00 am

NEW YORK (WCBS 880) -- A series of multimedia special reports illuminating the challenges of the New York City transportation infrastructure, and the breaking news coverage of the October 31st West Side Bike Path Attack brought WCBS Newsradio 880 two National Murrow Awards, the RTDNA announced Tuesday.

WCBS’s “The Breaking Point” from Reporter Alex Silverman took home the top national prize for “Best News Series” in the large market radio category from the Radio Television and Digital News Association.

Breaking Point
WCBS 880

Over the course of two months last summer, Silverman delivered a series of reports on air, and online looking into New York’s aging transportation infrastructure, chronic delays on subways and suburban rail systems, and the economic impact created when both reach “The Breaking Point."

Listen to the winning entry here:

The WCBS Newsradio 880 Staff also took home the National Murrow Award for Best Newscast for their coverage of the 2017 Halloween West Side Bike Path Attack. The award-winning newscast was co-anchored by Steve Scott and Michael Wallace and produced by Rivka Oppenheim. The entry covered the 5 p.m. half hour news just hours after an attack on the West Street Bike Path, which left eight people dead and a dozen others injured.

Listen here:

National awards, including those for network news organizations, large digital news organizations and for students, will be presented at the RTDNA Edward R. Murrow Awards Gala at Gotham Hall in New York City on October 22, 2018.

“At a time when it’s fashionable to bash so-called mainstream media, it’s more important than ever to recognize the extraordinary work of dedicated journalists who serve communities across our country,” said RTDNA Chairman Scott Libin. “In cities large and small, representing a wide variety of ownership groups, these news organizations show why Americans trust local journalists to report fairly and accurately about issues that matter.”

“Each year RTDNA is proud to honor the very best in broadcast and digital journalism through the Edward R. Murrow Awards and, by extension, highlight to the public why outstanding responsible journalism is essential to their daily lives,” said Dan Shelley, RTDNA Executive Director.

The Radio Television Digital News Association has been honoring outstanding achievements in broadcast and digital journalism with the Edward R. Murrow Awards since 1971.  Murrow’s pursuit of excellence in journalism embodies the spirit of the awards that carry his name. Murrow Award recipients demonstrate the excellence that Edward R. Murrow made a standard for the broadcast news profession.